Maid in Manhattan

4 May

Maid in Manhattan

Directed by: Wayne Wang

Written by: John Hughes and Kevin Wade

Release date (US): 13th December 2002

Now call me a girl if you want but I just can’t resist a cheesy chick flick! Once in a while I think it’s acceptable for a girl to slam on a movie about shoes, hairstyles and boyfriends and just plain revel in it. I for one am guilty of such an exercise and I’m not ashamed! I get so much crap from a certain someone about dragging his ass to see Sex and the City the movie (one and two – don’t judge) only to find him secretly enjoying it and laughing along as Charlotte Poughkeepsies in her pants.

JLo unfortunately is at the bottom of the favorites in the flick of the chick category and if I had to pick I’d take Sarah Jessica Parker or Isla Fisher over her every time. Having said that there is something strangely hypnotic about her and the terrible movies she’s in (minus The Cell, which was OK). I find her tragically narcissistic and without substance or talent yet I’m compelled to watch! What is that? It’s very similar to Jessica Alba come to think of it- Both have that annoying pout but neither I can switch off.

I think the truth of the matter is that JLo (and Jessica Alba for that matter) is easy on the eyes and I just want to look at her all the time! She’s just plain beautiful and I can’t help myself plus any lady with a booty that size is OK with me.

Anyways enough of JLo’s bum and on to the movie. Funnily enough it’s about a maid in Manhattan; a single mum working as a maid but with great potential for bigger things through a misunderstanding meets a senator and falls in love. You can imagine what happens and how it ends up but it’s a great one to stick on if you’re in the mood for that kind of thing. JLo’s dress is gorgeous plus Ralph Fiennes plays the love interest and there’s even the added bonus of Natasha Richardson and Bob Hoskins who I thought were both brilliant.

There’s some light comedy with the identity confusion and the whole situation gets very difficult to maintain. One thing I will say is that those are the nicest, friendliest and happiest hotel employees I’ve ever seen! I worked as a maid in a hotel when I was a teenager and if the hotel  I worked in was anything like that I would still be there now!

Overall if you’re looking for a girly feel good movie for your pj party then this is the one! Cheesy soundtracks and impossible dreams.

For more information on this movie visit:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0252076/

Leave a comment